Swiping and All Its Nonsense

Last night a group from my guild worked through some hard modes in 10 man Ulduar.   I took on the role of off tank since none of our normal tanks were online.   We only did a handful of bosses because we decided to try some hard modes.  Ignis’ hard mode achievement was a pleasant surprise and over an easy off tanking experience.  Others were easily the same.  When we got to Thorim we decided to try for hard mode.   I was left to the arena while the protection paladin took on the hallway.   To begin with I left on some of my high agility gear for extra dodge and crit, but after the first attempt I found stamina to be lacking.  Second, I originally tried tanking with the Idol of Terror only to find Idol of Perspicacious Attacks(buy one today!) a much better choice.  Luckily we had two hunters in the arena who knew how to bounce a commoner or evoker off one another while I contained the Champions and Warbringers.  To be honest I originally thought I could never solo tank the arena portion of the Thorim fight, but after attempting it on 10 man I believe it’s doable.   Now I would not call it easy I have to say it was quite fun.

Some things I learned from attempting Thorim hard mode(we only got him to 80% and called it after a few more attempts) are:

  • Always keep Idol of Perspicacious Attacks handy.  You aren’t going to be using your mangle as much a you will your swipe to round up all the adds.  That being said hold on to what you can and leave weaker mobs(e.g. Evokers and Commoners) to your dps.
  • Do not expect to be a great multiple mob tanking bear!  Even with Glyph of Maul and Berserk running when up I had a very hard time holding all the mobs.  The only time anyone died was when they stood near the Champions or in the case of one warlock seeded a lot.
  • Rock your stamina gear!  Now I’m not saying wear Polar gear, but using high stamina when tanking mulitiple mobs like in the Thorim fight is a must.

So for the first time in a while I can say I enjoyed tanking.   I haven’t really enjoyed tanking much since Brutallus and Kalecgos in Sunwell(pre-nerf of course!).  I still hold a strong opinion on bear tanking being gimped, but that doesn’t take away from it being fun.  I really hope Blizzard fixes our multiple mob threat issues and gives us either a bit of health or armor back from the last patch’s nerf.  Savage Defense is great for soloing TBC heroics, but it’s only a bandaid for our wounds while tanking hard modes.

Cheers!

~ by aleanathem on June 9, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
