Lessons Learned Anew

If you follow me on Twitter you know I’ve been spending a lot of time researching guild leadership.  Simply put outside of real life and a bit of gaming it’s about all I do currently.   It’s complexity has surprised me.   Flashback!

I picked up a copy of WoW right before TBC came out.  I had previously bought it and could not play it.  A friend of mine and myself decided to reroll on Shandris where two other friends of ours were playing.   Shortly after rolling, Al, my friend says we should create a guild.  Shandris was fairly new(less than a week or so old) and low level players were abundant at the time.  He tells me I should be the Guild Master.  Okay, that does not sound too hard.  So we start advertising for charter signers and within a month have a small “zerg” guild.  Soon I had a small officer core, but they really did nothing.   I attempted to run the guild by myself.  That was in the end the downfall of my guild.

Guild leadership isn’t a one man show.  From reading the experiences of current and former raiding guild guild leaders it’s painfully obvious that running the show solo only leads to burnout and more issues than I can list in this post.   Imagine trying to recruit new raiders, work with raiders, schedule raids, work a loot system, handle member questions, and countless other activities every night.    Think you could handle it?  I don’t believe I would so I’m going to agree with Matticus at World of Matticus and say around five is a good number of officers to start in a regular 25 man raiding guild.   That is the goal I am setting to have within the first two months of starting my raiding guild.  Setting myself up for failure?  I don’t believe so.

I’ll be looking more in-depth into this topic for a while.  Expect to hear more and feel free to share your ideas on guild leadership!

 

Cheers!

Al

~ by aleanathem on October 30, 2009.

One Response to “Lessons Learned Anew”

  1. Wow enjoyed reading this post. I added your rss to my google reader.

Leave a Reply

 
