Circle of Tanks….??

Well there has been a healing questionnaire going around recently.   And I found a tank version of it here.  I was mostly playing feral dps in Wrath, but for all of TBC and most of early Wrath I was one of my previous guild’s main tanks.  I still very much enjoy tanking and have a very hard time picking tanking or dpsing soley

 

What is the name, class, and spec of your primary tank?
Aleanathem, Druid,  0/56/15 – Current Threat build imo

What is your primary tanking environment? (i.e. raids, pvp, 5 mans)
I’ve always been a 25 man tank.  I tank 10s and heroics on off nights.

What is your favorite tanking spell for your class and why?
Challenging Roar.  Simply a great button for when your dps decides to AoE before you are ready.

What tanking spell do you use least for your class and why?
What don’t I use??  Demoralizing Roar is probably my least used spell.  Not that it should be, but I forget and with warriors around it doesn’t make as big a dent in the boss’ hits.

What do you feel is the biggest strength of your tanking class and why?
Many would say with ICC coming out our health.  I tend to agree even though I feel Blizzard has unjustly nerfed it this expansion.  A bear’s stamina allows him to take more hits and worry less about how many times he’s dodged a boss.

What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your tanking class and why?
AoE threat.  I’d argue druids have the worst AoE threat of any tank in game.  Blizzard has attempted to increase it by making Swipe a 360 attack, but that still seems not to be enough.

In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best tanking assignment for you?
I personally enjoy main tanking the boss the most.  I can pickup adds, but normally I am not as effective as a paladin or a death knight or even a warrior at that.

What tanking class do you enjoy tanking with most and why?
Completely and totally a druid.  From having my bear butt in front of Brutallus in Sunwell to tanking Anub’arak in Trial of the Cursader I have always enjoyed Mangling and Mauling!  I haven’t tried tanking with a warrior.  My only paladin experience was Uldamun at lower levels.  I was probably lacking much, but didn’t enjoy it the same as my druid.  My death knight just hasn’t had the gear to attempt.  So I will have to continue saying I love my druid!

What tanking class do you enjoy tanking with least and why?
Paladins.  Even though I didn’t get a ton experience it felt so boring.  Plus working out of a mana pool just isn’t appealing.

What is your worst habit as a tank?
Saving my cooldowns.  I have always had amazing healers healing me.  When we wipe I look down and nine times out of ten I’ve forgotten to blow my cooldowns.

What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while tanking?
Full frontal DPS.  Simply these are the people that rush in and start pouring their largest attacks into the boss when I don’t have a Misdirect.  One of them always dies and then complains.  These people should simply learn to watch Omen.

Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other tanks?
In one way I do, but in another I do not.  The feral tree was completely trashed in Wrath.  You cannot be a superb tank and dps in one spec so we have to have to different specs.  Okay, that’s fine.  Next up Blizzard decided ferals had too much health and armor.  So they reduce these and give us Savage Defense.  It’s a wonderful ability for soloing, but not the most amazing for main tanking.  Many will argue that we have way too much health, but fail to check the previous patches where Blizzard has nerfed druid stamina.  Overall we are probably  more balanced than I’d like to admit.

What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a tank?
Tanking is akin to healing in that it cannot be simply judged by dps meters and WWS reports.  I judge mine on how often I had to taunt a boss back from dps or how many people died due to bad positioning.

What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your class?
We are solely big hit tanks.  Yes, Blizzard has attempted at times to push us there, but at one time we were high dodge tanks.   Also not all of us are dpsers mainly.

What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new tanks of your class to learn?
You could say getting used to the big butt of a feral bear, but the are others!  My early tanking experience was setting the rotation/checklist up.  I think that is the most difficult part.  With the increase in FFF duration it got a bit easier, but still it is something to be mastered.

Effective Health or Avoidance and why?
For bears EH has always been near the top outside of parts of TBC and early Wrath.  Simply put if you can absorb most of the damage it’s better than risking a two or three shot by a boss because you got gibbed.

What tanking class do you feel you understand least?
Warriors, but I’m currently leveling one to understand them better.

What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in tanking?
NeedToKnow is a wonderful addon for both bear tanks and feral dps.

Do you strive primarily for balance between your tanking stats, or do you stack some much higher than others, and why?

I used to worry about a balance of agility, stamina and dodge, but have come to the conclusion we are being pushed towards solely stamina.  So I stack more stamina to allow for a larger health pool.

 

Thanks to Koriel for the reworking of the healer questionnaire.

 

Cheers!

Al


~ by aleanathem on November 3, 2009.

2 Responses to “Circle of Tanks….??”

  1. […] just busy in game and RL. And I’ve had nothing constructive to say. However, I saw this on Of Claws and Paws, and he got it from whatisboom? and I figured.. why […]

  2. […] Circle of Tanks….?? « Of Claws and Paws ofclawsandpaws.wordpress.com/2009/11/03/circle-of-tanks – view page – cached Well there has been a healing questionnaire going around recently. And I found a tank version of it here. I was mostly playing feral dps in Wrath, but for all of TBC and most of early Wrath I was… Read moreWell there has been a healing questionnaire going around recently. And I found a tank version of it here. I was mostly playing feral dps in Wrath, but for all of TBC and most of early Wrath I was one of my previous guild’s main tanks. I still very much enjoy tanking and have a very hard time picking tanking or dpsing soley Read less […]

Leave a Reply

 
